Sjefdirigent Christian Kluxen og symfoniorkesteret

Beethoven’s 4th Symphony

A masterpiece

Beethoven’s 4th symphony was admired by both Mendelssohn and Schumann.

Dates and tickets


Beethoven’s 4th symphony in B flat major was composed in 1806 and premiered in 1807. It has in many cases been overshadowed by the greatness of symphony nr. 3 “Eroica” and symphony nr. 5, but it is still a masterpiece written by a great composer.

The symphony has four movements. The beginning of the first movement is quiet, and it has similarities to “The Creation” by Haydn. This leads us into a more melodic and rhythmic Allegro vivace. The second movement is a quiet adagio, the third a Scherzo and the final movement is a finale which also has similarities to Haydn.


At this concert the orchestra will also be preforming Ligetis Concerto Romanesc, a concerto for orchestra which is inspired by Bartok and Enescu. Two composers who used the orchestra in a new and different way.

The work was composed in 1951 and it has elements from folk music, medieval music and classical music.


Personvern og cookies

På denne siden bruker vi informasjonskapsler (cookies) og andre teknologier for å tilby deg så hyggelig brukeropplevelse som mulig. Du kan lese mer om dette under våre personvernvilkår. Ved å klikke på "Godta", samtykker du i bruken av slike teknologier.