Portrett av Elisabeth K Eide

From Where I Stand

Elisabeth Kristensen Eide with our Sinfonietta

The answer to the question of what music is, is never wrong, and that is composer Mark Adderley’s point in this piece. As a listener you have your own way of experiencing the music.

Dates and tickets

From Where I Stand is a piece commissioned by the Arctic Philharmonic and flutist Elisabeth Kristensen Eide. The soloist and the composer have worked closely together during the process of making this piece.

Adderley explains the title like this: – “From Where I Stand” alludes the listener. The “!” is the listener. The “I” is at the same time the soloist. The “I” as the listener does not want to be told how to listen to the music, what to listen for and especially not what it means to the “I”. The meaning of the music goes straight to the listener. There is not a correct answer to anything. The listener meets the music from its own point of view, with its own history, and finds it’s way through the music by itself. The music and the interpretation are indicative, just like this text, which you are reading right now. The answer to the question of what music is, is never wrong.

Elisabeth loves this way of thinking about music. – As a musician it’s not always easy to fit in to a perspective (the composers) like this. It does a lot with my own way of looking upon and experiencing music, she says. And as an active performer the perceptions are personal. My interpretation and musical expression is not dictated by external premises and framework conditions, but it follows the line from the inner understanding.

In this way of looking upon music, we go into the three other pieces of the concert. Two of the pieces are written within the last decade and the third is a short Ragtime by Igor Stravinsky from 1920.

Shulamit Ran’s piece Grand Rounds from 2018 was written for the debut of the Grossman Ensemble in Chicago. The composer wanted the musicians to shout out “Here we are!”.

Igor Stravinsky’s short Ragtime is based on a part of his famous piece, The Soldier’s Tale.

Gavin Higgins’ ballet What Wild Ecstasy was composed for the 100th anniversary of the first performance of the ballet Afternoon of a Faun, choreographed by Vaslav Nijinsky and with music by Claude Debussy. The work is inspired by the choreography and the music as well as a poem by Mallarmé.

Personvern og cookies

På denne siden bruker vi informasjonskapsler (cookies) og andre teknologier for å tilby deg så hyggelig brukeropplevelse som mulig. Du kan lese mer om dette under våre personvernvilkår. Ved å klikke på "Godta", samtykker du i bruken av slike teknologier.